What is HR about?

At the beginning of my career I was so naive that I answered the question “Why HR?” with “Because I want to work with people”. Fortunately, I met a real HR professional who told me: “If you want to have a career in HR, consider it being about business, not about people. So, do you really want to work in HR?”

I said “Yes, I do”. Therefore, I had to gain an overview of the business and I put myself in the executives’ shoes, thinking “If I were him/her, what would I expect from HR?”

I still have much to learn about HR, but I think that seeing it from a business perspective helps me.

A useful piece of advice on ”How HR can earn a seat at the table with the Big Dogs

Leave a comment

Filed under People Management

Leave a Reply

